The cannabis industry is growing at a fast rate. But not every sector of the market is created equal. Edibles, for example, have long been gaining in popularity.
In fact, it’s estimated that by 2022, consumers in the U.S. and Canada will spend $4.1 billion on CBD- and THC-laced treats. The high demand for potent, delicious, and well-crafted products means that there’s something on the market for everyone.
Many people choose a vegan diet for ethical reasons and simultaneously reap the rewards of the many health benefits that come with practicing a vegas lifestyle. A well-balanced plant-based diet is useful in preventing and treating metabolic disease and cardiovascular disorders. It’s also proven to help people with type II diabetes achieve weight loss and improve glycemic control. Vegan gummies are a great choice for people who want to enjoy the benefits of cannabis without smoking, particularly if it’s their first-time.
Choosing a vegan cannabis gummy first of all means it’s made with plant-based pectin, rather than the traditional base of gelatin. Pectin is a water-soluble fiber derived from non-animal byproducts, whereas gelatin is a protein derived from animals. This makes it possible to create vegetarian and vegan recipes using pectin, providing the other ingredients are also non-animal byproducts. Pectin is a naturally-occurring complex carbohydrate, or starch. It’s a gelling agent found in many fruit and vegetable products, and is commonly used in jams, jellies, and fruit preserves.
There’s no sacrifice with pectin however. Pectin creates gummies with a soft viscous body that has an excellent mouthfeel, taste, very rapid flavor release, a clean cut texture and shiny appearance. Many non-vegans even prefer the lighter, less rubbery quality of pectin-based gummy candies than those containing gelatin. It performs well in every category, including a problem that those in certain climates can encounter – heat. Gelatin melts at around 95 degrees. This melting point is low enough that gelatin-based gummies lose their structural integrity on hot summer days and stick together. To stop their products from melting, manufacturers may ship gelatin-based gummies in temperature-controlled trucks, adding unnecessary costs to distribution. Producing gummies using pectin eliminates these melting problems as pectin doesn’t melt until the temperature hits almost 300 degrees, so you’re probably good!
And when you find cannabis gummies that are vegan, they may well come with other benefits as well including gluten-free, lactose-free, sugar-free and even with a select few, kosher certified.